Home   || Site Map ||    Contact Us

  Chunni Lal Khetrapal

Edit Your Details  
Click Here !!

Name Professor CL Khetrapal
(Professor Chunni Lal Khetrapal)
FNA ID N81-0375
Address Distinguished Professor, Sanjay Gandhi PG Inst of Medical Science, RaeBareli Road,
City Lucknow
Pin Code 226014
Country India
Gender Male
Specialization Chemical Physics, Spectroscopy & NMR
Service in the Council Ad Member, 2011
Qualification PhD
Membership FNASc
  Award Professor Ranga Krishna Asundi Memorial Lecture, 1990
  Year of Election 1981  
E-mail clkhetrapal@hotmail.com
Personal Website http://www.cbmrindia.com

Chunni Lal Khetrapal obtained his BSc (1957) and MSc (1959) degrees from Allahabad University. Soon after, he joined Atomic Energy Establishment Training School (1959) in Bombay and then the Tata Institute of Fundamental Research (TIFR), Mumbai. He obtained PhD (1965) from Bombay University. He was a post-doctoral Fellow at the University of Basel, Switzerland (1967-69); Research Associate at the Liquid Crystal Institute, Kent State University, Kent, USA (1971-72), Visiting Scientist at NIH, Bethesda, Maryland, USA (1979-80 and 1984); Associate Professor at Raman Research Institute, Bangalore (1973-84); Professor and Head, Sophisticated Instruments Facility, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore (1984-98); Vice-Chancellor, Allahabad University (1998-2001); Distinguished Professor, Sanjay Gandhi Post-graduate Institute of Medical Sciences, Lucknow (2001-06); and Director, Centre of Biomedical Magnetic Resonance, Lucknow (2001- ).

Academic and Research Achievements: Professor Khetrapal is working in the field of Nuclear Magnetic Resonance (NMR). He has played a prime role in spreading NMR culture in the country. His contributions in NMR have literally opened new avenues of research. At the University of Allahabad, he initiated several new academic programmes and created two new Institutes, namely, the Institute of Interdisciplinary Studies and the Institute of Professional Studies. Each of the newly created Institutes has several Centres of Excellence for front line research and teaching in high priority areas of importance for the national development. He has over two hundred and sixty publications to his credit and authored several reviews, books, chapters in books and monographs. Two of his publications have become Citation Classics in 1983 and 1991. He has three major contributions in the Encyclopaedia of NMR, John Weily and Sons (1995-96) to commemorate the Golden Jubilee of the discovery of NMR.

Other Contributions: Professor Khetrapal was responsible for the creation of the first National Centre on NMR in Bangalore, was the Founder President of the National Magnetic Resonance Society, and established the Centre of Biomedical Magnetic Resonance in Lucknow as an autonomous Centre of the Government of Uttar Pradesh. He is a member of the International Editorial Board of prestigious series of publications in NMR and periodically contributes to the publications of the Royal Society of Chemistry, England and Springer-Verlag (West Germany).

Awards and Honours: Professor Khetrapal received the SS Bhatnagar Prize (1982). He was a Member of International Council of Magnetic Resonance in Biological Systems (1984-94) and of Governing Council, the International Society of Magnetic Resonance (1986-95). Among his several other honours and awards are: RK Asundi Memorial Lecture Award of INSA (1990); President, Physical Sciences and of Chemistry Section of Indian Science Congress (1994); CV Raman Award of UGC (1996); Goyal Prize in (1996); JC Ghosh Lecture Award of Indian Chemical Society (1998); PC Ray Memorial Medal of the Indian Science Congress Association (2002); Life time Achievement Award of the Indian Chemical Society (2005) and NR Dhar Memorial Lecture Award of National Academy of Sciences (India), Allahabad (2005). Khetrapal is a Fellow of National Academy of Sciences (India), Allahabad (Vice-President, 1999-2000).

       History | Significant Landmark | Objectives | Committees | Local Chapters | Rules | Regulations | Current Fellows National | Current Fellows Foreign | Indian Fellows Elected | Foreign Fellows Elected | Council | Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions
©Website design and developed by: INDIAN NATIONAL SCIENCE ACADEMY. Informatics Centre